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First things first. What is ad rank? According to Google, the official definition is: “a value that’s used to determine your ad position (where ads are shown on a page relative to other ads) and whether your ads will show at all.”

For example, if your ad shows up in the second position on the page, your ad rank for that particular search is two.

But, what factors actually impact your plastic surgery ads’ rank? Simply put, its calculated by:

  • Your bid amount.
  • Auction-time ad quality.
  • Competitiveness of auction.
  • Context of a user’s search.
  • Expected impact of extensions and other ad formats.

Each specific keyword search is analyzed by determining the above factors to give it an Ad Rank.

That means that every search is fundamentally different. That means in one search auction, you could have an Ad Rank of one. But the very next search auction, you could have an Ad Rank of four.

In order to fully understand Ad Rank, let’s dive deeper into each of the factors above.

Your bid amount: This is the amount you are willing to pay to show up in a specific position when a user searches a keyword. There are minimum and maximum thresholds. For example, if you set a maximum CPC of $2 and the next highest bidder has a max CPC of $1.60, you would then pay $1.61 in that auction.

Ad quality: There are three main factors that go into determining your ad quality. These include expected click-through rate (CTR), ad relevance, and landing page experience.

User signals and attributes: These signals include things such as location, device type, and time of day. Ad rank thresholds will vary based on these factors.

Context of search: Two different people could search the same keyword and have two completely different contexts.

Competitiveness of auction: Your ad rank can also depend on the auctions for related but similar searches. For example, [wedding invitations] and [wedding invites] search terms could be informed by each other because they are similar in nature.

Expected impact of ad extensions and other formats: Google will look at your ad extensions for the relevancy, CTR, and overall experience with the ad.

Because Google Ads is essentially an auction, it’s often assumed that if you just bid higher, you’ll land the top advertising spot. In a world of complexity, that is not the case anymore.

You could be bidding significantly less than a competitor of yours in an auction but still, outrank them if your ads are better! While there are many differences between organic and paid searches, they do function similarly in the fact that Google will favor more relevant information for searchers.

If you need help getting your ads off the ground, you can always reach out to us for a free consultation

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